Q. Institutes and eligibility requirement for admission to a M. Sc. course in Biotechnology?

Answer:  Typically, eligibility requirement for admission to a M. Sc. course in Biotechnology is a Bachelor's degree under 10+2+3 pattern of education in Physical/Biological/ Agricultural/Veterinary Science/Fishery Science/ Pharmacy/ Engineering/ Technology or Medicine (MBBS) or BDS with at least 55% marks in aggregate. Some Universities require 50% marks and a few other Universities require 60% marks in the Bachelor degree examination.

There are many Universities which offer M. Sc. in Biotechnology in India. Admission to 17 of these Universities is based on a Combined Biotechnology Entrance examination conducted by Jawaharlal Nehru University. The Universities are:

  • Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
  • Birsa Agriculture University, Ranchi
  • Calicut University, Kerala
  • Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya, Indore
  • G.B. Paint University of Agriculture and Technology, Pant Nagar
  • Goa University, Goa
  • Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
  • Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla
  • University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
  • University of Jammu, Jammu
  • Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
  • M.S. University of Baroda, Baroda
  • Madurai Kamraj University, Madurai.
  • Punjab University, Chandigarh
  • Pondicherry University, Pondicherry
  • Punjab University, Patiala
  • Tezpur University, Tezpur

Total number of seats offered in these Universities is about 520. Notification for the Combined Biotechnology entrance examination is published in the month of February in leading newspapers.

* This list is indicative not exhaustive.